Today in Washington – December 13, 2018
December 13, 2018
Source: Jennifer (White) Mangone – Legislative Counsel

Today in Washington
December 13, 2018

White House Releases Executive Order on Opportunity Zones – The Trump Administration has released an Executive Order (EO) establishing a White House Opportunity Revitalization Council to be chaired by Secretary of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Ben Carson. According to the EO, the Council will be comprised of 13 federal agencies and will work across all agencies and engage with state and local governments to:

1. Focus federal investments and programs on qualified opportunity zones
2. Minimize regulatory burdens that discourage public and private investment in opportunity zones
3. Coordinate interagency efforts to ensure stakeholders can develop strategies for economic growth and revitalization
4. Recommend policies that would streamline regulatory burdens, help community-based applicants identify/apply for federal resources, and make it easier for recipients to receive and manage multiple types of public and private investments
5. Evaluate:
1. How agencies can prioritize support for these areas in grants and financing;
2. Appropriate methods for federal cooperation with and support for states
3. How to develop an integrated web based tool through which entrepreneurs, investors, and other stakeholders can see a full range of applicable federal financing programs available in opportunity zones
4. How to consider opportunity zones as possible locations for Federal buildings
5. How federal technical assistance can be coordinated across agencies to assist communities in addressing economic problems, engaging comprehensive planning, and advancing regional collaboration
6. What data, metrics, and methodologies can be used to measure the effectiveness of investments in opportunity zones

You may read the Executive Order here. You may read the White House Fact Sheet on Opportunity Zones here.

Democratic Steering and Policy Committee Announces Executive Committee Chairs – The Democratic Steering a Policy Committee released a list of Executive Committee Chairs for next Congress. This list is subject to Democratic Caucus approval:

• Appropriations: Nita Lowey (D-NY)
• Energy and Commerce: Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
• Financial Services: Maxine Waters (D-CA)
• Ways and Means: Richard Neal (D-MA)

For a list of other Committee Chairs for next Congress, see Wednesday’s Today in Washington